top of page
  • Shanley Smith

In Lieu of Social Media: The Death of Jane Lawrence

Shanley Smith reviews the Death of Jane Lawrence by Caitlin Starling and argues the place of the horror novel.



The Death of Jane Lawrence: And Using Horror Novels to Combat Social Media Addiction


The Death of Jane Lawrence by Caitlin Starling is the first horror novel I’ve read since age thirteen because, truth be told, I despise anything scary. The novel takes place in a Britain-like Victorian world called Great Bretlain. Jane Shoringfield, the protagonist, is a practical and calculated woman who seeks to arrange her own loveless and financially secure marriage, so she can pursue her own hobbies and vocation. Of course, on the night of their wedding she realizes that the kind-hearted (and handsome) husband she selected, might not be who he seems. Queue the botched surgeries, paranormal spirits, and cults. Oh yes, readers, you’re in for a treat.


Horror doesn’t usually beckon to me, on account of the fact that it leaves me sleepless and petrified after sunset. My active imagination receives the brunt of the blame for this; it keeps me from delighting in the paranormal and ghoulish. For weeks after watching Cabin in the Woods, I would lie in bed while images of saw-faced men and viscous ballerinas shot through my mind. I begged my partner to take the dog out at night. When Marc found out my reasoning, he sent me out to face my fears – a kind act that felt a bit like betrayal at the time. While my dog took his time to let loose, I scoped out all the shadows where creatures might lurk. All this paranoia, a result of a film supposedly classified as a horror comedy!


So last October I picked up a horror novel. You might be wondering why. Why risk the sleep? Why put myself through the discomfort? These are fair questions. I picked up a copy of the Death of Jane Lawrence for two reasons. One, because it was spooky season and I wanted to celebrate Halloween with a festive read. And two, I’ve become increasingly aware of the impact social media has on my mind. Turning pages can be difficult when my itchy brain is begging me to put down the book and pick up my phone to scroll. Scrolling! Ah, it’s so much easier than page turning. To combat, I figured I’d pick out a page turner for myself. After reading through reviews, Starling’s latest gothic horror seemed a safe bet. It would provide some thrill and fear, but wouldn’t leave every last hair standing.


To my surprise, the strategy worked. The Death of Jane Lawrence is a horrifying book. One that I couldn’t put down. Nearly every page is packed with wicked gore, red-eyed ghosts, or secret societies. I turned page after page and ripped through chapters, hoping to reach landing pads where the pace slowed and terror gave way to a fictional sunrise or dreamy flashback. But even when the danger’s faded, I was bound to the words. Starling’s writing, like Victorian-Gothic lace and velvet, captured me with it’s smoothness and intricacies. The world that Starling builds captivated me. By borrowing from the atmosphere of Victorian Britain and twisting certain features, she builds a believable structure that furthers all the horror. Until the end, I kept paging in hopes of resolution, but Starling remains true to the genre. Even the final paragraphs made my skin crawl and left my mind wandering.


I know I’m not alone in feeling royally screwed by social media. Scientists have confirmed it, Netflix has exposéd it, and the subject constantly pops up at social gatherings. We’re all trying to figure our own ways to combat it. Some have tried meditation; others, long walks. Here’s a new hammer to add to the toolkit (verified and tested by yours truly): the horror novel.


The Death of Jane Lawrence is Jane Eyre meets Bluebeard. Though it borrows from familiar tropes of the gothic and horror genre, Starling infuses them with characters and twists that refresh the familiar. Not to mention, Starling’s own voice elevates the book, allowing the tropes to enhance rather than detract from the story’s momentum. If you’re looking for a page turner that runs the risk of occasionally keeping you up at night, look no further. You can put to rest the blue light of your phone. This novel looks best under candle light, but if you’re like me, perhaps it’s better to read midday when the sun is still shining bright.


Shanley Smith (she/her) resides in Holland, Michigan where she spends her days writing, teaching, advocating for the environment, and walking her dog. She proudly serves as Dimly Lit's head editor and founder.



bottom of page