top of page
  • Shanley Smith

Designing the New Year with Kailee Keiser

A conversation with Kailee Keiser and Shanley Smith

Kailee Keiser is the author of Designing the New Year, a goal setting e-book. Her journaling prompts have helped me set my own goals for the past two years to shape my writing pursuits, practice the art of saying no, and chase after the work I do today. At the beginning of this year, I got to have a conversation with her about her book as well as her own goals for the new year.



Shanley Smith: I've been looking forward to having this conversation together. Thanks so much for taking the time to chat. First things first, what inspired you to create this book?


Kailee Keiser: In our fast-paced, consumerist society, we often lose touch with our desires and chase after the things we are taught to want instead. I have journaled as long as I could write, but in college I began journaling more intentionally to uncover what I want out of life. This developed into an annual practice that has helped me feel grounded and focused on the things that I truly value. I decided to create this ebook to share these journaling prompts so that others could experience a similar focus as they enter the new year.


SS: Could you share a little about what shaped your practice? What sources, people, concepts, etc. helped you along the way?


KK: One of my greatest friends, Christie, inspired me to deepen my journaling practice when I was 16. She gifted me a journal that was filled with quotes and journaling prompts. I have also been very inspired by the concept of bullet journaling. Dividing your goals into tasks and events has allowed me to reflect on what it takes to accomplish what I want to achieve.


SS: Wow. What an impactful gift. How do you manage to break down a goal into doable-sized tasks? Any advice you have for my kindred spirits who struggle to get from the dream stage to the goal stage?


KK: Such a good question! I’m someone who has a lot of dreams and ideas but I often struggle with follow-through. One thing that has helped me a lot is asking myself how I will feel if this dream is accomplished. After focusing on those feelings, I ask myself how I can carry those feelings into my daily life. Focusing on feelings helps me remember that my goals are not a chore and that working towards them can actually be an enjoyable process. From there, my advice is to create goals for yourself that are so tiny that they almost seem too easy. For example, if your goal is to write a book, make your first task to write one sentence. Then, your next goal can be something like writing for ten minutes. I would also recommend avoiding setting arbitrary timelines for yourself and instead focus on developing an easy routine (like writing 10 minutes per day) as your goal until you get the ball rolling. Along the way, make sure to continue focusing on how good it feels to work on something that you will be proud of.


SS: I really appreciate your focus on positivity and reflection. Can I get a little personal and ask what some of your goals are for 2022?


KK: Yes! Some of my goals are to get consistent with my Spanish language learning routine, set clearer work/life boundaries, and block out time each day for creativity.


SS: Sounds like some of our goals for the year might be similar. We’ll have to compare notes along the way! Part three of your book is called “You, Fully Embodied.” Can you unpack the meaning of Fully Embodied a little bit? Why do you hold it so central to designing the new year?


KK: To me, fully embodied means living into your wholeness. It is centering on the things you value and desire. It is living as the most confident, clear, authentic version of yourself. I believe it is essential to get grounded in the person you believe yourself to be before setting goals. This provides a positive mental framework when setting your goals - instead of asking yourself just what you want to accomplish, you begin by imagining the person you want to become.


SS: What a beautiful vision. I hope in 2022 we can all get at least a few steps closer to meeting our fully embodied selves. This is the second year I’ve used some version of the process you outline in your book, and it has proved centering for me once again. I’m looking forward to some of Dimly Lit’s audience experiencing it as well. Where can readers find your ebook?


KK: I’m so glad to hear that! You can find my ebook on my website I just published: kaileetaylorkeiser.com


SS: Thanks so much for taking the time to give some extra insights on your book. You’re a rockstar making this world better one step at a time and this book is just one of the many ways I’ve seen you doing that. I can’t wait to see what your creative goals bring forth in the next year!


bottom of page