top of page
  • Kellyanne Fitzgerald

Magnificat

A poem by Kellyanne Fitzgerald


Magnificant

Thou O Lord wilt open my lips.

And my mouth shall declare thy praise

Incline unto my aid O God.


My soul will magnify the violets

and my spirit has rejoiced in the buzz of the snow plow

Because they have regarded the humility of my being,

Because no creature knows my name

or cares that I exist.


Because the spirits that are in baby birds and the things that eat baby birds

and the unfeeling and ghastly beauty of the night sky

have done great things to me,

and holy is their name.


Their mercy is from generation unto generation

to those who remember them and even to those who forget.

Because they have kept the sea fronds alive

because they have scattered languages and fashions

across the path of history, pulped and splintering like paper.


Because they have given pens and pulled crowns

from the heads of the mighty. Cameras blink like eyelashes

because in all the new horrors there are new wonders.


Because they have been forgotten and murdered

and still fill the hungry with treasures

rye and marmalades and brown sugar.


Because they have received us as caretakers

Because we need each other.


As they spoke to our mothers, to the First Woman

and to her children forever

Glory be to the Mother,

and to her Child,

and to the Holy Ghost


as it was in the beginning is now,

and ever shall be

world without end

Amen.


Kellyanne Fitzgerald is a writer and artist based in Madison, Wisconsin. In her free time she enjoys language learning, fiber arts, and folk art illustration.

bottom of page