top of page
  • Kellyanne Fitzgerald

rot manifesto

A Poem by Kellyanne Fitzgerald




rot manifesto


i refuse to tell a sad story.

it’s not that i don’t believe in them

or feel the grey - i am queasy with old dreams.

new fears climb my throat every morning

gentle as the cats who breathe in my arms.


but i make myself think of gilded leaves

and pretend it’s my own personal revolution.

if there must be someone to tell about the rot

there must be someone to tell about the rain


and the whimsy, silly dewdrops catching spiderwebs.

wetness of the ground, mushrooms like little angels

all blooming. significance of sunlight through branches

clouds swallowing it up. thin rays pulling free like cornsilk.


i am paying attention, i am not diminishing

my eyes are wide enough for both.




Kellyanne Fitzgerald is a writer and artist based in Madison, Wisconsin. In her free time she enjoys language learning, fiber arts, and folk art illustration.


bottom of page