top of page
  • Michael Stone

Naked In the Window

A Poem by Michael Stone



Naked In the Window


Breathing easily in, nighttime shatters

any notions I had of myself as starchild.

Look at the facts - clouds roll past ephemera

like stars and cop cars to reveal

what nightsky always provides - certainty

of blackness wailing in deep wells far away.

I want a spoonful of that in my sugar!

Turn it into coffee, keep me awake

past dawn I run away from. Dream shatters

night into a thousand and one train sets

set up and loosed motionless around the graves

of my daytime friends in all their beds,

crawling like me to the pasture

where some shepherd keeps the sheep.

Some company in this hour - some company

that come next spring would lend me its wool.

After all, my blankets are very thin.





Michael Stone is a poet from Kalamazoo, MI but the only way to read his work is to make him food. He works in youth development in Grand Rapids and makes music under the name Desert Golfer.



bottom of page