top of page
  • Kellyanne Fitzgerald

in which my cat considers taking a step that is too far for her

A poem by Kellyanne Fitzgerald



in which my cat considers taking a step that is too far for her


she makes this jump daily

but still approaches it slow,

the gravity of a trapeze artist

crossing a bridge of wire.


yellow eyes focus,

quiver of whiskers

black velvet limbs

tense into angles

she puts out a paw


slips


pulls it back.


looks forward again.


leans farther out

tail curling up for balance

i hold my breath

she coils, nose twitching

makes the jump


lands soft and slow

and sidles over to me,

unaware that she has done

anything remarkable.

she nuzzles my hand for scratches.


i try to think of a better metaphor for prayer.





Kellyanne Fitzgerald is a writer and artist based in Madison, Wisconsin. In her free time she enjoys language learning, fiber arts, and folk art illustration.

bottom of page